## Henry County Retired Teachers Association Secretary's Report December 13, 2021

The Henry County Retired Teachers Association meeting for December 13, 2021, was called to order by President Charlotte Shrider. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, President Shrider recognized the hostesses Bev Wittes and Sandy Honemann. A big thank you to the setup volunteers also. She welcomed guest, Angela Tonjes. Celebrity December birthdays were used to determine table order dismissed to the meal. Sandy Honemann sang the Lord's Prayer and the meal was enjoyed by all.

Following the meal, Harpist, Angela Tonjes, played Christmas music. It was beautiful!

The business meeting resumed. The secretary's and treasurer's report were approved as printed in the newsletter.

## 1. Committee Reports:

- Legislative: Steve Seagrave gave an update on STRS's questionable investments. He urged you to read updates and continue to contact your state representative or state senator.
- o Community Service: Jan Schlade gave a thank you to those that reported during last year. Members with highest number of hours, Tom Jenny and Gene Grime, were recognized.
- Education Foundation: Updates were given, and ballots distributed for the open and newly created positions. New members elected and their terms were Kirk Fruth (2026), Larry Zachrich (2026) and Janet Aschemeier (2024) were elected.

## 2. Old Business:

- Charlotte reported that \$169 dollars were taken in on the November Christmas basket raffle.
- o Gene Grime stated that dictionaries were taken to the schools that still wanted them and flash cards were purchased for the Napoleon School District.

## 3. New Business:

- President Shrider led a discussion to choose a new community giving project. After some discussion, Nancy Hoover made a motion to contribute to LifeWise Academy. MaryAnn Wade seconded the motion. Napoleon, Liberty Center and Holgate will receive two months donations during the year.
- A basket was passed and collected \$241.00 for the tornado victims in Mayfield, Kentucky.
- 4. Carole Wolfe won the 50/50 drawing of \$20.00.

Jerry Osborn made motion to adjourn. Sandy Honemann seconded the motion to adjourn. Approved.

Respectfully Submitted,
Pam Schwiebert, HCRTA Secretary