## Henry County Retired Teachers Association Secretary's Report December 12, 2022

The Henry County Retired Teachers Association meeting for December12, 2022, was called to order by President Charlotte Shrider. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, President Shrider gave a big thank you to the setup volunteers Charlie Meyer, Kirk Fruth, Larry Zachrich, Terry Witt for setting up, and to Becky Schindler for being hostess.

Following the meal, Bill and Cathy Beck of "Squeeze Play" entertained the group with holiday music.

President Shrider called the meeting to order.

The Secretary and Treasurer's reports were approved as printed in the newsletter.

## **Committee Reports:**

**<u>Community Service:</u>** Bev Wittes and Patty Hill were recognized with reporting the most reported volunteer hours.

**Education Foundation:** Diane Meyer was recommended for a term on the Education Foundation. Charlie Meyer made a motion to nominate Diane Meyer for the term ending in 2027 and Terry Witt seconded the motion. Motion was approved.

<u>Membership Committee:</u> Rosalie Ashenfelter made motion for Steve Seagrave to take over the position as chairperson with Rosemary Pfau seconding the motion. Motion passed.

**<u>Report from Carole Wolfe:</u>** ORTA wants to include active teachers in the Ohio Retired Teachers Association. This is under discussion. Members should let Carole know if they are not receiving ORTA emails.

**Legislative:** Steve Seagrave reported that the STRS Board is still not listening to membership and seems to not have learned from the last election. More new reformer board members need to be elected to STRS.

## **Old Business:**

<u>Meetings/Catering:</u> President Charlotte reported that Oberhaus Park had been secured for the 2023 year. Members voted on hiring Hills Restaurant to continue to provide the meals.

**Designated Charity:** Rosemary Pfau made a motion and Steve Seagrave seconded to continue to support Lifewise Academy in 2023. The motion passed.

**Elections:** Terry Witt presented 2023 slate of officers. Motion was made and seconded to accept the list. Motion passed. The following were elected. President: Bev Wittes; Vice President: Charlie Meyer; They will share leadership responsibilities. Treasurer: Greg Merrill; Assistant Treasurer: Duane Ressler; Secretary: Pam Schwiebert; Assistant Secretary: Diane Meyer; Community Service Chair: Jan Schlade; and Legislative Chair: Steve Seagrave.

Charlotte Shrider was thanked for her many years of serving as president of the group with a large round of applause.

50/50 drawing: \$24 Was won by Pam Schwiebert.

Faith Hurst made motion to adjourn. Jan Schlade seconded the motion.

Respectfully submitted,

Pam Schwiebert Secretary