## Henry County Retired Teachers Association Secretary's Report May 08, 2023

The Henry County Retired Teachers Association meeting for May 8, 2023, was called to order by President Bev Wittes. Following the Pledge of Allegiance, President Wittes thanked the setup volunteers Rich Hurst, Charlie Meyer, Greg Merrill. and Faith Hurst for hosting.

Tables were called by drawing numbered flowers from the Q & U wedding.

Following the meal Don Allison spoke about Northwest Ohio's involvement in the Underground Railroad.

President Bev Wittes then called the meeting to order.

The Secretary and Treasurer's reports were approved as printed in the newsletter by Rosalee Ashenfelter and Terri Witt.

## **Committee Reports:**

**Community Service:** Patty Hill and Gene Grime were recognized for the most reported volunteer hours.

**Education Foundation:** Griffith Scholarship winners were announced by Terri Witt.

<u>Legislative/Membership</u>: Steve Seagrave reported that the new member of the STRS board won overwhelmingly.

**Historian:** Faith Hurst reminded those present to bring in news articles and pictures of members.

## **Old Business:**

A sample of a new brochure created by Steve Seagrave to promote recruitment of new membership was reviewed. The idea is to give brochures to members to pass out to active or retired teachers they know. Greg Merrill made a motion for Seagrave to print 200. Charlie Meyer seconded the motion.

Please see Bev Wittes if you would be willing to help with hosting or setting up.

## **New Business:**

Bev Wittes recognized Steve Seagrave for his election as ORTA President Elect, term to begin September 1, 2023.

Charlie Meyer reminded members that the of the July 10, 2023, meeting will be a POTLUCK. Greg Merrill offered to bring bottled water. The scholarship winners will be present.

Lifewise Donations for the four county schools was \$143.00.

50/50 drawing was won by Pam Schwiebert.

Rosie Ashenfelter made a motion to adjourn. Rosemary Pfau seconded the motion.

Respectfully submitted,

Pam Schwiebert

Secretary